Monthly Archives: September 2012

Band Of Horses – Mirage Rock
(Track from the forthcoming CD from Band of Horses)
Knock Knock

Bob Dylan – Tempest
(Track from the forthcoming CD from Bob)
Early Roman Kings

Dirty Projectors – Swing Lo Magellan
(Dirty Projectors are an American rock band, consisting of David Longstreth (vocals, guitar; Amber Coffman (vocals, guitar), Haley Dekle (vocals), Nat Baldwin (bass), Olga Bell (vocals, keyboards), and Michael Johnson (drums). They have released seven full-length albums)
Dance for You
Impregnable Question

Dr. John – Locked Down
(This is the 29th album from Dr John and is a collaboration with Dan Auerbach of The Black Keys)
God’s Sure Good
Locked Down

Garbage – Not Your Kind Of People
(Garbage is an alternative rock band formed in Madison, Wisconsin, in 1994 consisting of Scottish singer Shirley Manson (vocals, guitar) and American musicians Duke Erikson (bass, guitar, keyboards, percussion), Steve Marker (guitar, keyboards) and Butch Vig (drums, percussion). This is only their 5th CD)
Beloved Freak

Not Your Kind Of People

Golden Earring – Tits ‘N’ Ass
(They have been together since 1961 and uring their 51 year old career they topped the Dutch rock charts on over 40 occasions; over the years they produced 41 studio albums. This is their first release since 2003)
Dope Runner
Flowers In The Mud
Over The Cliff Into The Deep Deep Blue
Wanted By Women
What Do I Know About Love

Joey Ramone – Ya Know
(These are the last recorded track from the leader of the Ramones who passed away in 2001)
Going Nowhere Fast
Life’s a Gas
Party Line

John Hiatt – Mystic Pinball
(Hiatt is back with his 21st album and the 5th one since RFP went on the air)
Give It Up
I Just Don’t Know What To Say
I Know How To Lose You
All Comes Back Someday
No Wicked Grin
We’re Alright Now
Wood Chipper

Miniature Tigers – Mia Pharaoh
(Miniature Tigers is an indie pop band based in Brooklyn, NY that combines elements of indie rock, synthpop, and dream pop. The band is made up of frontman-guitarist Charlie Brand, Rick Schaier on drums and vocals, Algernon Quashie on guitar and keyboard). This is their 3rd full-length CD)
Easy As All That

Of Monsters & Men – My Head Is an Animal
(Monsters and Men is a six-piece indie folk/indie pop band from Iceland, formed in 2010– this is their 1st CD)
Dirty Paws
Little Talks
Love Love Love
Six Weeks
Your Bones

Santana – Shape Shifter
(New CD from Carlos and all instrumental too)
Never The Same Again
Shape Shifter

Shawn Colvin – All Fall Down
(She got her start in a Western swing band called the Dixie Diesels in Austin. This is her first CD since 2006 and is her 7th release)
All Fall Down
I Don’t Know You
Seven Times The Charm
Up On That Hill

Spiritualized – Sweet Heart Sweet Light
(Spiritualized are an English space rock band formed in 1990 in Rugby, Warwickshire by Jason Pierce (who often goes by the alias J. Spaceman) after the demise of his previous outfit, space-rockers Spacemen 3. The membership of Spiritualized has changed from album to album, with Pierce — who writes, composes and sings all of the band’s material — being the only constant member. This is their 7th album)
Hey Jane

The Killers – Battle Born
(The Killers are an American rock band that was formed in 2001, by Brandon Flowers (lead vocals, keyboards) and Dave Keuning (guitar, backing vocals). Mark Stoermer (bass, backing vocals) and Ronnie Vannucci Jr. (drums, percussion). They are from Las Vegas. This track from the forthcoming CD, Battle Born. The phrase “Battle Born” appears on the state flag of Nevada)

Ultravox – Brilliant
(The new CD from Ultravox, a British New Wave rock band featuring Billy Currie and lead singer, Midge Ure, who left the band in 1987 for a solo career. This is their first CD since 1994)

Andrew Bird – Break It Yourself
(Break It Yourself is American singer-songwriter Andrew Bird’s sixth solo studio album)
Lazy Projector

Asia – XXX
Asia back again with a new CD. (pronounced Triple X). This is also the original linup of the band with Geoff Downes – keyboards, Steve Howe – electric, acoustic and steel guitars, Carl Palmer – drums and percussion and John Wetton – vocals and bass guitar)
Bury Me In Willow
Reno (Silver And Gold)

Beach Boys – That’s Why God Made The Radio
(This is the first new Beach Boys album with Brian Wilson since Beach Boys Love You in 1976)
That’s Why God Made The Radio (this song has been in the mix for the last month)

Spring Vacation
Strange World

Ben Kweller – Go Fly A Kite
(Texas singer-songwriter who had Nils Lofgrin as a next door neighbor growing up. This is his 8th CD)
Full Circle
I Miss You
Jealous Girl
Meant To Me
You Can Count On Me

Counting Crows – Underwater Sunshine (Or What We Did On Our Summer Vacation)

(Entire CD of covers from the Counting Crows. This is only their 6th CD)
Coming Around (Travis cover)
Meet On The Ledge (Fairport Convention cover)
Ooh La La (Faces cover)
Return Of The Grievous Angel (Graham Parsons cover)
Start Again ?(Teenage Fan Club cover)
The Ballad Of El Goodo (Big Star cover)

Dry The River – Shallow Bed
(Dry the River is a new English folk rock band formed in East London, 2009. This is their first CD)
Animal Skins
History Book
New Ceremony
Shaker Hymns
Shield Your Eyes
Weights & Measures.

Jack White – Blunderbuss
(The guy from the White Stripes and The Raconteurs. This is his first solo disc)
Hypocritical Kiss
Missing Pieces

Joe Walsh – Analog Man

(Joe is back in fine form with his first new album since the 1992 CD, “Songs for a Dying Planet” and is produced by Jeff Lynde)
Hi-Roller Baby
Analog Man
Lucky That Way
One Day at a Time (songs deals with his struggles with alcoholism)
Spanish Dancer
Wrecking Ball

Kaiser Chiefs – Start The Revolution Without Me
(UK band from Leeds, this is their 5th CD)
Can’t Mind My Own Business
If You Will Have Me
Kinda Girl You Are
Problem Solved
When All Is Quiet

M. Ward – A Wasteland Companion
(8th solo CD from Matthew Stephen Ward, known by his stage name M. Ward, is a singer-songwriter and guitarist who rose to prominence in the Portland, Oregon music scene. In addition to his solo work he is known as a member of She & Him and Monsters of Folk)
Me And My Shadow
Primitive Girl

Neil Young & Crazy Horse –  Americana
(Americana is the thirty-fourth studio album from Neil Young. This is Neil Young’s retake on classic American folk songs. He said, “Every one of these songs [on Americana] has verses that have been ignored. And those are the key verses, those are the things that make these songs live. They’re a little heavy for kindergarteners to be singing. The originals are much darker, there’s more protest in them.)”
Oh Susannah
Gallows Pole
High Flyin’ Bird

Rush – Clockwork Angels
(This is the19th full-length studio album by Rush)
Halo Effect
The Wreckers
The Garden
Wish Them Well

Smashing Pumpkins – Oceania
(This is their 9th CD and is basically Billy Corgan and a rotating cast of band members)
My Love Is Winter
Pale Horse
The Celestials

The Flower Kings – Banks of Eden
(The Flower Kings are a Swedish progressive rock group. Formed in August 1994 by veteran guitarist Roine Stolt. This is their 11th CD)
For The Love Of Gold
For Those About To Drown

The Magnetic Fields – Love At The Bottom Of The Sea
(The Magnetic Fields (named after the André Breton novel Les Champs Magnétiques) is an American indie pop group founded and led by Stephin Merritt. This is their 11th CD)
Andrew In Drag
I’d Go Anywhere With Hugh
Infatuation (With Your Gyration)